May Madness!

May has always been my favourite month of the year, even more so now that we celebrate Megan’s birthday on the 23rd, our wedding anniversary on the 25th and Harrys birthday on the 27th. We also seem to enjoy the best of the weather in May, balancing out a very exhausting and expensive month with some beautiful sunny days making memories for our family.

This month the children’s birthdays have passed in a blur of presents and balloons, a flurry of wrapping paper and the squeals of two very excited, and admittedly very spoilt, children. This was the first year that Megan really understood her birthday, proudly wearing her “I am 3!” badge and telling just about anyone who would listen, “I am three! I am a big girl!” And although Harry very much enjoyed his presents, his little face when he saw the Twirlywoo Big Red Boat was priceless, he was still quite oblivious to the reasons behind it!

At the weekend we had a joint party for the two of them, following weeks of deliberating whether to throw one here at home or hire a soft play centre. At the thought of a rabble of two and three year olds trampling across my lovely new carpets, we hired a local soft play centre and it was lovely to see how excited Megan was to have a party, to interact with her little friends and enjoy her time in the limelight. Again, Harry was completely oblivious!!

Inbetween the birthdays, Gaz and I celebrated our fourth wedding anniversary where we exchanged thoughtful gifts based on the traditional wedding gifts as we have done each year. Or at least one of us did. Fruit and flowers? I had bought Gaz an apple tree, the perfect combination of fruit and flowers, that we can plant in the garden and watch grow over the years. He bought me…….a banana!! On the plus side, he did take me out for a child free lunch and some quality time together, which was much needed and much appreciated!

img_3646-2

On top of all of that, we have been undergoing some home renovations, replacing our existing polycarbonate conservatory roof with a custom built solid roof. It was a lot of upheaval, trying to keep three little ones out of there was near impossible, but we are so pleased with it and would recommend it to anyone!

img_3494-5

We are also in the process of converting our garage, something we have been putting off due to the mammoth task of having to empty it first!! There is always such a knock on effect with home renovations, what starts out as one room soon escalates to another. With the conversion of the garage we needed to demolish our own shed and built a new larger shed, which subsequently destroyed our back lawn which now needs re-turfing. As the garage becomes the new playroom, the existing playroom shall become my office, with the existing office becoming Lewis’s bedroom and his room becoming Harrys. So what started out as one room has escalated to four rooms needing to be dealt with, decorated and furnished. Right now, with our house looking like a walk in jumble sale, I am constantly reminding myself that it will all be worth it. I shall keep you posted!

img_2232

May has also brought a really exciting project my way in that, not only have I started work on a fictional novel, but I have also just written my very first children’s book! It is definitely more at the “watch this space” stage at this moment, and  I can’t share too many details with you at present, but we are hoping to have it out in print in time for Christmas and of course you will be the first to hear all about it!

May has been such a lovely month for us as a family, not just the birthdays and the celebrations, but just those ordinary moments that we have shared together as a family. We have had some lovely days out at the seaside, at various parks and sunny days just spent in the garden. The children have loved being outside, running around in just their underwear, squealing with delight during water fights, eating ice creams and enjoying the sunshine.

I have watched the children’s relationships grow from strength to strength in the way that they play together, the way that they communicate and look out for each other. It has, as always, been lovely to watch and I am so enjoying this stage, looking forward to the Summer months and seeing my little doves grow together.

May has given us so many lovely memories to look back on, lots of new and exciting opportunities and so much to look forward to. I can honestly say that I have never felt more optimistic about the future for such a long time and, when I look at these beautiful little faces and all that this month has brought us, it comes as no real surprise to say that I have never been happier.

 

Cuddle Fairy
Run Jump Scrap!
Mummy Fever – Share With Me

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Domesticated Momster
Petite Pudding
Linky
Post Comment Love
ethannevelyn

thumbnailsize

81 thoughts on “May Madness!

  1. Amazing photos capturing beautiful memories! I love May too. Our garage looks exactly like yours!! How exciting about your book – I will definitely be watching the space 🙂 #BloggerClubUK

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww happy birthday to them both and happy anniversary! So much going on. Your garage pic is exactly like mine so I felt better hehe. Amazing news on the home renovations and a book? ooh very exciting. Keep us posted on both. Beautiful piccys as always. Thanks for sharing with #bestandworst

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Our garage was full of so much crap, most of which is now scattered around my house! I hate having work done in the house, all the dust and upheaval, but it will be worth it I’m sure!! xx

      Like

    1. Haha he didn’t even buy it, simply gave it to me from the fruit bowl!! We had said no gifts to be fair and yet he didn’t grasp the concept that no gifts didn’t REALLY mean no gifts!!!! xx

      Like

  3. Oh I love your posts – always bring joy and positivity so thank you! Another gorgeous collection of photos – I must take more – except my children now police which ones I can use as they never like any of the shots I take! Love your anniversary gift – ha ha – just what my husband would do – but would also make it up later with a nice lunch. Love the fact that May brought you lots of gorgeous memories. Here’s to a wonderful happy memory making June lovely #BloggerClubUK

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh thank you!! Haha my eldest is like that with photos, he makes me take at least ten before he lets me post one! I do take far too many photos but I can’t help it, they are so charismatic and I want to capture it all on film!! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love all your pictures! Looks like they really enjoyed themselves. It sounds like it has been an expensive month with birthdays and decorating and sorting all your rooms. Your brave doing it all- I’m jealous! It’ll look fab when it’s done. Congrats on the book as well! It sounds like everything is going really well. Go you mama! #stayclassy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. May is a ridiculously expensive month! Thankfully our mortgage was up for renewal last month so we were able to add on the additional borrowing and just get the rooms all done once and for all. It would never get done if we waited for a time we could save up that amount, there’s always something isn’t there? As for the book, I’m hoping it will be a success, pay off some of the mortgage!! 😂xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow what an exciting month for you! Our Septembers are a bit like this as our kids birthdays are 4 days (and 2 years) apart, plus the anniversary of the day we met and got engaged (one year apart) all fall within a week! Love the split birthday cake and the joint party idea. Congratulations on the publishing ventures too!
    Dawn x
    #momsterslink

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah so you understand the birthday/anniversary madness too! It’s exhausting isn’t it? And expensive!! I feel a little sad now May is over but June looks quite promising too! xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww happy birthday to your daughter! Our wedding anniversary!! It’s lovely when they start to understand birthdays and Christmas, makes it even more special! xx

      Like

    1. Thank you! Isnt it? He is OBSESSED with Twirlywoos and his face was a picture! God help the girls when they go near it, he is very possessive of “Mine boat!!”. xx

      Like

  6. What gorgeous children you have. I understand the love/hate relationship with home renovations. We a re-doing our playroom and it’s turned everywhere into chaos. I’m trying to create a jungle bit by bit when the children go to bed every night.Thanks for linking up to #sharewithme – hope to see you again

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s hard work isn’t it? Especially with kids who don’t understand that they cant touch wet paint or go in rooms that are bursting with boxes!! It will all be worth it, that’s what I keep telling myself anyway! xx

      Like

  7. Oh what BEAUTIFUL, HAPPY photos! May is a busy, birthday-filled month in our family too! The new roof looks great and the birthday cake is fantastic. But, my favourtie bit about this post is………the banana! Hahaha. Such a man present! I’m glad to hear he wined and dined you later though 🙂 #justanotherlinky

    Like

    1. Hahaha I’m glad the banana made someone laugh, you can imagine where I wanted to shove it!! He made up for it though, men hey?! Thanks for reading! xx

      Like

  8. What a fabulous month!! I thought, I need to say that in my comment, and that, and that…. and now I’m trying to remember it all!
    Firstly, your photos are gorgeous, you little ones are just so cute and smiley, they must just light up your day. I love your anniversary present, I’ll have to remember that for next year, though maybe not the banana!! Your conservatory looks amazing that roof must make such a difference, and yes, we’re in the same boat with room renovations spiralling across the house – I’m waiting on one room being finished before posting about it!
    I love the sound of your projects…. you must be so excited! #fabfridaypost

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! The children really do light up my day, even the gloomy ones!! We try to do the traditional gifts each year, it adds a little fun to it although you can imagine how the banana went down! Next year is wood, I dread to think about that one!!
      Home renovations are hard work aren’t they? I wish I could just wave a magic wand and everything be done, decorated, furnished and dust free!! Long term it will be worth it, just right now it’s hard work! Good luck with yours!! xxx

      Like

  9. What a lovely month 🙂
    Nice to see the little ones enjoyed their joint party, fab photos.
    And best wishes for your children’s book (I’m also in the process of publishing my first, so excited)
    Enjoy the rest of your day x

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi Laura, May sounded a busy month, but in a good way. I love your little ones birthday cake, two birds with one stone! New carpets and young children don’t mix, so I can’t blame you for renting for the party. I bet they hada fantastic time too.

    Your garage looks a bit like my daughters bedroom, but at least you have a good excuse for it, my daughter doesn’t!… Oh, I forgot…She’s revising.

    Hope June brings good times too, along with good weather, of course.

    xx

    Like

    1. Yes, joint birthday parties are the way forward! Not sure how they will feel about that though!!
      Ahh revision is a big deal, my sons bedroom is equally messy and he doesn’t even have that excuse!
      Hope you have a wonderful June too, so far the weather has been amazing up North! xxx

      Like

  11. Fabulous pictures as always and it looks like the kids had a great time for their birthdays. I love that your other half brought you a banana – that’s the sort of thing my husband would do. Eurgh household rennovations are the bain of my life – I don’t envy you the upheaval but sure it will be worth it long term. Best of luck with the book – can’t wait to hear more about that. Thanks for linking with #PuddingLove

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You had such a lovely May! And a busy one too with two birthdays, an anniversary & renovation job – which turned out really great looking by the way. I always love scrolling through your photos – everyone looks so summery & happy. Thanks so much for linking up with us at #BloggerClubUK

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was absolutely perfect, even the dust and the disruption of the renovations!! June is proving to be equally lovely, this weather is amazing! Thanks for reading! xx

      Like

  13. May was epic, gorgeous, vibrant photos here so full of LOVE. Your home is beautiful too! We are planning a garage conversion this winter-so need to use up that big space. Worried where all our stuff will go though, we don’t have enough storage here! x

    Like

    1. Thank you! We are the same, we built a bigger shed to store most of the junk but the rest of it is scattered throughout the house at the minute while we wait on the garage being finished so we can start re-arranging everything! They’ve just started plastering and it’s surprising how big it is now it’s a room, lot of upheaval and hard work but will totally be worth it! Good luck!! xx

      Like

  14. Oh what a brilliant month you’ve had! Your photos are fantastic, they have really captured May so beautifully! My friends house is being renovated so i know how chaotic is seems. It will so be worth it in the end 🙂 Thanks for linking up to #puddinglove

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This is so lovely Laura. Happy Birthday to Megan and Harry! & Of course Happy Anniversary to you and your hubby too! What a month! I’m so happy for you and your lovely eventful life – except the emptying of the garage of course – but it will look nice at the end – keep positive! 🙂 Thank you so much for linking up with us again Laura on #FabFridayPost I love hearing your story. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  16. You have had quite a busy month of May! Cheers to all that and still being able to find the time to blog. I on the other hand have been a rubbish blogger because life has taken a form of its own and event after event to attend to. I always love all your photographs. Thank you so much for linking up with #momsterslink :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment